Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Car travel activities for kids

Color by Number Addition Pages

My Seven asked for color by number pages. I wanted to create something which would challenge her and give her something she loves, so I set addition facts on those fairy tale figures. You can find the listing of ten free pages by visiting this particular post.

Lap Boards

Have seen some remarkable DIY lapboards on Pinterest. However, I don't sew beyond buttons. I do not do well with wood, foam, or stretching fabric. I do not even cut a straight line. This is my version of a DIY lap board. Locate A cheap magnetic skillet (tip -- they are not all magnetic; check first). This 9 x 13 tray cost 99 cents. Then get some markers or crayons and hot glue magnet strips on them (even glue strips may utilize that extra glue). Anything To maintain my toddler out of dropping a mark each five seconds. The Sketchpad was from the dollar bin at Target, look more to certifiableactivities.blogspot.com.

Fairy Tale Coloring Pages

Here Are a few fairy tale coloring pages which my Four, Five, and Seven will enjoy. All these are a freebie that I am currently offering to my email subscribers. Learn more about these in this post.

Novels on CD

Our Number one action on long car rides is reading. Thankfully, my Seven and Five may read by themselves. But my Four specifically doesn't have patience for long trips, and he's not prepared to read independently. I will read periodically, but it is not something I want to do for ten hours! That's where books on CD come in. I borrow from the library, save them in my CD holder, and book multiple copies of every book so each of those big kids can follow alongwith I Also referred to my Best Picture Books for Kids Pinterest board and found a huge stack of new-to-us publications to take along. (The tough part was keeping my kids from reading them before the big trip!

Magnetic Pattern Block Activities

We Have pattern blocks, but for this trip I purchased a magnetic set of blocks so that the children can use them in their baking sheets. I found the massive pattern block activities at PreKinders. I published a transportation, snowflake, and creatures set. The kids can each set a paper on their board and pay it with the magnetic cubes. I also printed the small set of designs out of Kelly's Kindergarten and bound them with a ring. (You will have to shrink her designs prior to printing them if you want them small.) My older kids can recreate these images onto their own boards.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Top